OFFSTAGE 360

Everyone is a king or queen. The season’s motto is more than a slogan – it is a statement, understanding (of self) and vision. With Offstage 360 we leave the stage, go out of the theatre into the city and also seek encounters in the “off” areas – there where culture mixes in all shades, where access to cultural participation is not taken for granted, where life is lived to the full. We come back with people that want to participate, people who tell stories from their lives and people who are just as diverse and individual as our opera characters. We leave the stage and stand in the middle of the city. Our goal is to live with differences and diversity, and not to build walls. We benefit from diversities, negotiate these again and again and appreciate the interests of so many others. This is what makes us, our stage and our society.

Just complain verbosely and you achieve nothing. To speak with the broad range of the city’s inhabitants on an equal footing we introduce collaborations with cultural, social and children’s and youth institutions. Right there and then we want to listen and have discussions. MORGEN, the umbrella association of migrant organisations in Munich and surroundings is an important cooperation partner for the years ahead. MORGEN was founded to increase participation and commitment by people with an immigration background. The network’s motto: “Engage, participate, co-decide!”

This principle also applies for us. Everyone can join in, integrate and try out in our future participatory and inclusivity projects, club nights and musical and music theatre offers with Offstage 360. Being part of cultural activity also contributes to being part of the city. Everyone will have this opportunity, regardless of education, social status or origins. Musical theatre lives with and from the people in the city.

Together with artists, cultural institutions and various organisers in Munich, we develop new discursive and artistic formats – in the city and in the Nationaltheater. Starting point here are the topics surrounding opera and ballet productions. We connect with the diverse voices and viewpoints of the city’s inhabitants to expand opera’s sphere of influence. From the stage to the population’s everyday routine and back on stage again.

Our line of sight covers 360°, seeks out new stimuli with openness, wants to meet people of all ages and walks of life and focuses on the Bayerische Staatsoper’s full range of activity here – ballet, concert, opera. We don’t want to reach any full stops here, but rather enjoy lively continuous exchanges with people and enable participation.

Offstage 360

Jeder Mensch ist König:in. Das Motto der Spielzeit ist mehr als ein Slogan – es ist Programm, (Selbst)Verständnis und Vision. Mit Offstage 360 verlassen wir die stage, gehen raus aus dem Bühnenraum in die Stadt und suchen die Begegnung auch in Bereichen des off – dort, wo sich Kultur in allen Schattierungen mischt, dort, wo der Zugang zur kulturellen Teilhabe nicht selbstverständlich geebnet ist, dort, wo das Leben tobt. Wir kommen zurück mit Menschen, die teilhaben wollen, Menschen, die Geschichten aus ihrem Leben erzählen und Menschen, die genauso wie unsere Opernfiguren vielschichtig, divers und individuell sind. Wir verlassen die stage und stehen mitten in der Stadt. Unser Ziel ist, mit Unterschieden und Vielfältigkeit zu leben und nicht, Mauern aufzubauen. Wir profitieren von Unterschiedlichkeiten, verhandeln diese immer wieder neu und nehmen die Interessen von vielen wahr. Das macht uns, unsere Bühne und unsere Gesellschaft aus. 

Wer nur wortreich beklagt, bewirkt nichts. Um mit der breiten Stadtbevölkerung Gespräche auf Augenhöhe zu führen, gehen wir Kooperationen mit kulturellen, sozialen sowie Kinder- und Jugendeinrichtungen ein. Vor Ort wollen wir zuhören und Diskussionen führen. Ein wichtiger Kooperationspartner für die nächsten Jahre ist MORGEN, der Dachverband der Migrant:innenorganisationen in München und Umgebung. MORGEN wurde gegründet, um Teilhabe und Engagement von Menschen mit Einwanderungsgeschichte zu stärken. Das Motto des Netzwerks: „Engagieren, teilhaben, mitentscheiden!“. 

Dieser Grundsatz gilt auch für uns. In unseren zukünftigen partizipativen Projekten, Clubnächten und musikalischen sowie musiktheatralen Angeboten Offstage 360 kann jede:r teilnehmen, sich einbringen und sich ausprobieren. Teil des künstlerischen Geschehens zu sein trägt dazu bei, Teil der Stadt zu werden. Diese Möglichkeit sollen alle bekommen, unabhängig von Bildung, sozialem Status oder Herkunft. Musiktheater lebt mit und von den Menschen in der Stadt. 

Gemeinsam mit Künstler:innen, Kulturinstitutionen und verschiedenen Veranstaltern Münchens entwickeln wir neue diskursive und künstlerische Formate – in der Stadt und im Nationaltheater. Ausgangspunkt sind die Themen der Opern- und Ballettproduktionen. Wir verbinden uns mit den vielfältigen Stimmen und Perspektiven der Stadtgesellschaft, um den Wirkungskreis der Oper zu erweitern. Von der Bühne zum Alltag der Bevölkerung und wieder zurück on stage. 

Unsere Blickrichtung geht über 360 Grad, sucht mit Offenheit nach neuen Impulsen, wünscht sich Begegnung mit Menschen aller Lebensalter und Lebenswege und hat dabei alle Sparten der Bayerischen Staatsoper im Blick: Ballett, Konzert, Oper. Wir möchten keine Schlusspunkte setzen, sondern in lebendigem Austausch mit den Menschen stehen und Teilhabe ermöglichen.